Phishing Scams and Phishing Reports at MillerSmiles.co.uk

     
 
Home
Search
Archives
News
Submit Scam
Articles
F.A.Q.
Forum
About Us
Contact Us
Links
 


Bank loan
Need a bank loan? Check out this site. They'll help you find a great loan.

Home Loan Lender
Looking for a home loan lender? Loan Arrangers will help you find the best home loan for your financial situation.

 
Scam Report  
  See our most recent scam reports Browse our scam report archives Search


Please send us any scam/phishing emails you have received by reporting them here

For access to our huge blacklist of domain names and to sign up to our live feed of ALL the scams we receive please take a look at our Honeytrap service

If you have received the email below, please remember that it is very common for these email scams to be redistributed at a later date with only slightly different content, such as a different subject or return address, or with the fake webpage(s) hosted on a different webserver.

We aim to report every variant of the scams we receive, so even if it appears that a scam you receive has already been reported, please submit it to us anyway.

 

 

 
PayPal Notification: Posibile Account Theft

Date Reported: 20th June 2006 Whats this? Risk Level: MEDIUM Whats this?
 
Details
 
Apparent Sender:
 PayPal Whats this?
Return Address:
 < service@paypal.com > Whats this?
Email Format:  HTML Whats this?
 
URL of Web Content:
 http://www.verwell.com/ws1/.paypal.com/Paypal. dllSignIn21pU4serId=c3opartnerId=siteid=pageType= 28aUsingSSL=6bshowgwif=favoritenav=errmsg=9/Log- In/Submit/index.php Whats this?
Location:
 Germany Whats this?
 
Detailed server information:
 www.verwell.com detailed server information Whats this?
 
Comments:
  • Email asks you to confirm/update/verify your account data at PayPal by visiting the given link. You will be taken to a spoof website where your details will be captured for the phishers.


  • PayPal never send their users emails requesting personal details in this way.


  • The REAL URL of the spoof website is disguised as "https://www.paypal.com/xws1/f=default1".


  • The spoof website this email links to was not online at time of this report, but variations of the scam which link to working websites are bound to exist, so be wary! The website may have been taken down or disabled by the hosts, but quite often these websites are hosted on the personal computer of the phishers, so may only be online at certain times.


  • The REAL URL of the spoof website looks nothing like the actual PayPal URL.
     
Content
 
Email:    
 
"However, You will need to update some of your records in our Resolution center if not will result account suspension."

Dear valued PayPal member,

The security questions and answers for your PayPal account were changed on June 17, 2006.
If you did not authorize this change,please contact us immediately using this link :

https://www.paypal.com/xws1/f=default1

However, You will need to update some of your records in our Resolution center if not will result account suspension. Please update your records by June 21th.

For more information on protecting yourself from fraud, please review the Security Tips in our Security Center.

Please do not reply to this email. This mailbox is not monitored and you will not receive a response. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and click the Help link located in the top right corner of any PayPal page.

Thank you for using PayPal! ,
The PayPal Team

PayPal Email ID PP337
 
Website:    
 
Spoof website not online at time of report...