Phishing Scams and Phishing Reports at MillerSmiles.co.uk

     
 
Home
Search
Archives
News
Submit Scam
Articles
F.A.Q.
Forum
About Us
Contact Us
Links
 


Marcus Evans Scam Events
Get the information you need on scam prevention by attending the Marcus Evans events. To know more about the events, visit here.

Marcus Evans fraud events
Marcus Evans fraud events will teach you the skills needed to safeguard your company against fraud

THG Worldwide
Check out the blog entry on THG's new hospitality division, THG Worldwide.

Marcus Evans Scam Events
Concerned about the growing problem of frauds and scams? Attend the Marcus Evans events and know how to protect your business.

 
Scam Report  
  See our most recent scam reports Browse our scam report archives Search


Please send us any scam/phishing emails you have received by reporting them here

For access to our huge blacklist of domain names and to sign up to our live feed of ALL the scams we receive please take a look at our Honeytrap service

If you have received the email below, please remember that it is very common for these email scams to be redistributed at a later date with only slightly different content, such as a different subject or return address, or with the fake webpage(s) hosted on a different webserver.

We aim to report every variant of the scams we receive, so even if it appears that a scam you receive has already been reported, please submit it to us anyway.

 

 

 
Access Suspended

Date Reported: 15th May 2007 Whats this? Risk Level: MEDIUM Whats this?
 
Details
 
Apparent Sender:
 Halifax Whats this?
Return Address:
 Halifax Online Banking < onlinesecurity@halifax.co.uk > Whats this?
Email Format:  HTML Whats this?
 
URL of Web Content:
 http://www.myrtlecupmatches.com/components/ com_gallery.bak/com_user/www.halifax.co. uk/_mem_bin/formslogin.aspsourcehalifax coukHOME/Update-online-banking/ Whats this?
Location:
 CA, US Whats this?
 
Detailed server information:
 www.myrtlecupmatches.com detailed server information Whats this?
 
Our reference number:
 aa-4877
 
Comments:
  • Email asks you to confirm/update/verify your account data at Halifax by visiting the given link. You will be taken to a spoof website where your details will be captured for the phishers.


  • Halifax never send their users emails requesting personal details in this way.


  • The REAL URL of the spoof website is disguised as "https://www.halifax-online.co.uk/_mem_ bin/formslogin.asp?source=halifaxcoukHOME".


  • The spoof website this email links to was not online at time of this report, but variations of the scam which link to working websites are bound to exist, so be wary! The website may have been taken down or disabled by the hosts, but quite often these websites are hosted on the personal computer of the phishers, so may only be online at certain times.


  • The REAL URL of the spoof website looks nothing like the actual Halifax URL.
     
Content
 
Email:    
 
"Click on the link below and you will be taken straight to where you can activate your account."


 
Website:    
 
Spoof website not online at time of report...