Phishing Scams and Phishing Reports at MillerSmiles.co.uk

     
 
Home
Search
Archives
News
Submit Scam
Articles
F.A.Q.
Forum
About Us
Contact Us
Links
 


Marcus Evans Fraud Events
You will get all the knowledge related to online fraud that could hit your business here. Attend the Marcus Evans scam prevention events.

Marcus Evans Fraud Events
Marcus Evans fraud events will teach you how to protect your company against corruption

THG Worldwide
THG Worldwide offers the opportunity of a stylish environment where you can socialize and network with important contacts.

Marcus Evans Fraud Events
Attending the Marcus Evans fraud prevention conferences will enable you to protect your business against scams.

 
Scam Report  
  See our most recent scam reports Browse our scam report archives Search


Please send us any scam/phishing emails you have received by reporting them here

For access to our huge blacklist of domain names and to sign up to our live feed of ALL the scams we receive please take a look at our Honeytrap service

If you have received the email below, please remember that it is very common for these email scams to be redistributed at a later date with only slightly different content, such as a different subject or return address, or with the fake webpage(s) hosted on a different webserver.

We aim to report every variant of the scams we receive, so even if it appears that a scam you receive has already been reported, please submit it to us anyway.

 

 

 
Capital One Bank customer service: important
message


Date Reported: 13th February 2009 Whats this? Risk Level: MEDIUM Whats this?
 
Details
 
Apparent Sender:
 Capital One Bank Whats this?
Return Address:
 < noreply@capitalone.com > Whats this?
Email Format:  HTML Whats this?
 
URL of Web Content:
 http://commercial.capitalonebank.com. file051.asp.filesdirs.eu/ confirmmode/dlstack/formpage. aspx?id=544156535042472811 7957924252113211396645 Whats this?
Location:
 Unknown Whats this?
 
Detailed server information:
 commercial.capitalonebank.com. file051.asp.filesdirs.eu detailed server information Whats this?
 
Our reference number:
 aa-8715
 
Comments:
  • Email asks you to confirm/update/verify your account data at Capital One Bank by visiting the given link. You will be taken to a spoof website where your details will be captured for the phishers.


  • Capital One Bank never send their users emails requesting personal details in this way.


  • The REAL URL of the spoof website is disguised as "http://commercial.capitalonebank. com/file051.asp/confirmmode/ dlstack/formpage.aspx?id= 54415653504247281179579242 52113211396645".


  • The spoof website this email links to was not online at time of this report, but variations of the scam which link to working websites are bound to exist, so be wary! The website may have been taken down or disabled by the hosts, but quite often these websites are hosted on the personal computer of the phishers, so may only be online at certain times.


  • The REAL URL of the spoof website has been chosen to look very similar to the actual Capital One Bank URL. Do not be fooled!
     
Content
 
Email:    
 
"Please notice that due to technical issues, the new banking software release is currently on hold."

Dear Capital One Bank customer,

Please notice that due to technical issues, the new banking software release is currently on hold. However, a number of innovations have been added. The new client-server protocol is one of them. To make sure your online account correctly corresponds with the new protocol, you need to complete TowerNET Form to update your data. If you are a former customer of the North Fork bank, using Treasury Optimizer service for online banking, please use the same link and choose Treasury Optimizer form from a menu on the web-site.

Please use the link below in order to access the Form:

http://commercial.capitalonebank. com/file051.asp/confirmmode/ dlstack/formpage.aspx?id= 54415653504247281179579242 52113211396645

Please do not respond to this message as it is generated automatically.

Capital One Bank Customer Service
 
Website:    
 
Spoof website not online at time of report...