Phishing Scams and Phishing Reports at MillerSmiles.co.uk

     
 
Home
Search
Archives
News
Submit Scam
Articles
F.A.Q.
Forum
About Us
Contact Us
Links
 


Marcus Evans Scam Events
Get the information you need on scam prevention by attending the Marcus Evans events. To know more about the events, visit here.

Marcus Evans fraud events
Marcus Evans fraud events will teach you the skills needed to safeguard your company against fraud

THG Worldwide
Check out the blog entry on THG's new hospitality division, THG Worldwide.

Marcus Evans Scam Events
Concerned about the growing problem of frauds and scams? Attend the Marcus Evans events and know how to protect your business.

 
Scam Report  
  See our most recent scam reports Browse our scam report archives Search


Please send us any scam/phishing emails you have received by reporting them here

For access to our huge blacklist of domain names and to sign up to our live feed of ALL the scams we receive please take a look at our Honeytrap service

If you have received the email below, please remember that it is very common for these email scams to be redistributed at a later date with only slightly different content, such as a different subject or return address, or with the fake webpage(s) hosted on a different webserver.

We aim to report every variant of the scams we receive, so even if it appears that a scam you receive has already been reported, please submit it to us anyway.

 

 

 
Need PayPal Accaunt Information

Date Reported: 28th June 2009 Whats this? Risk Level: MEDIUM Whats this?
 
Details
 
Apparent Sender:
  PayPal Whats this?
Return Address:
 support@paypal.net Whats this?
Email Format:  HTML Whats this?
 
URL of Web Content:
 http://www.faischter.ch/Joomla2/templates/archzone
 /css/
  Whats this?
Anchor text of URLs:
 1)
http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_log
in-run Whats this?
Location:
 SWITZERLAND Whats this?
 
Detailed server information:
 www.faischter.ch
  detailed server information
 Whats this?
 
Our reference number:
 2158-29613-190929
 
Comments:
  • Email asks you to confirm/update/verify your account data at PayPal by visiting the given link. You will be taken to a spoof website where your details will be captured for the phishers.


  • PayPal never send their users emails requesting personal details in this way.


  • The anchor text appears as a legitimate URL, but don't be fooled - clicking on it will take you to a phishing site!


  • The spoof website this email links to was not online at time of this report, but variations of the scam which link to working websites are bound to exist, so be wary! The website may have been taken down or disabled by the hosts, but quite often these websites are hosted on the personal computer of the phishers, so may only be online at certain times.


     
Content
 
Email:    
 

DEAR VALUED PAYPALŪ MEMBER:

Due to concerns, for the safety and
integrity of the paypal
account we have issued this warning message.
It has come to our attention that your
PayPalŪ account information needs
to be
updated as part of our continuing commitment
to protect your account and to
reduce the instance of fraud on our website.
If you could please take 5-10 minutes
out of your online experience and update your
personal records you will not run into
any fu...



Click for full size image
 
Website:    
 
Website was not online when we checked. It returned the error 403