Phishing Scams and Phishing Reports at MillerSmiles.co.uk

     
 
Home
Search
Archives
News
Submit Scam
Articles
F.A.Q.
Forum
About Us
Contact Us
Links
 


Scam Events for Marcus Evans
Scam prevention events by Marcus Evans will help you get all the information required to protect your business against frauds.

Scams info from Marcus Evans
Click here to read conference scams info from Marcus Evans

The Hospitality Group
The Hospitality Group is the sports marketing and corporate hospitality division of Marcus Evans!

Scam Events for Marcus Evans
Scam events conferences by Marcus Evans will help you with all the knowledge you need to protect your business.

 
Scam Report  
  See our most recent scam reports Browse our scam report archives Search


Please send us any scam/phishing emails you have received by reporting them here

For access to our huge blacklist of domain names and to sign up to our live feed of ALL the scams we receive please take a look at our Honeytrap service

If you have received the email below, please remember that it is very common for these email scams to be redistributed at a later date with only slightly different content, such as a different subject or return address, or with the fake webpage(s) hosted on a different webserver.

We aim to report every variant of the scams we receive, so even if it appears that a scam you receive has already been reported, please submit it to us anyway.

 

 

 
Critical Information Regarding Your Account

Date Reported: 1st April 2006 Whats this? Risk Level: MEDIUM Whats this?
 
Details
 
Apparent Sender:
 Chase Manhattan Bank Whats this?
Return Address:
 < security.notice@chaseinc.com > Whats this?
Email Format:  HTML Whats this?
 
URL of Web Content:
 http://222.255.74.2/usage/ /chaseonline.chase.com/ online_banking/clkpcb/125107626/WebTeller/ BankTag/forteisapi.dll/security/UsingSsl/prdata/ userprofile/custserv/information/request/user-data- profile/234544663242423/index.html Whats this?
Location:
 Vietnam Whats this?
 
Detailed server information:
 222.255.74.2 detailed server information Whats this?
 
Our reference number:
 aa-2423
 
Comments:
  • Email asks you to confirm/update/verify your account data at Chase Manhattan Bank by visiting the given link. You will be taken to a spoof website where your details will be captured for the phishers.


  • Chase Manhattan Bank never send their users emails requesting personal details in this way.


  • The REAL URL of the spoof website is disguised as "https://secure.chase.com/update/ftb/verify.asp? ARD=0170".


  • The REAL URL of the spoof website is hidden by a hyperlinked image in the body of the email. This is a technique used to get past spam filters that can only read normal text.


  • The spoof website this email links to was not online at time of this report, but variations of the scam which link to working websites are bound to exist, so be wary! The website may have been taken down or disabled by the hosts, but quite often these websites are hosted on the personal computer of the phishers, so may only be online at certain times.


  • The REAL URL of the spoof website looks nothing like the actual Chase Manhattan Bank URL.
     
Content
 
Email:    
 
"We recently reviewed your account, and suspect that your Chase Manhattan Bank account may have been accessed by an unauthorized third party."


 
Website:    
 
Spoof website not online at time of report...