Phishing Scams and Phishing Reports at MillerSmiles.co.uk

     
 
Home
Search
Archives
News
Submit Scam
Articles
F.A.Q.
Forum
About Us
Contact Us
Links
 


Marcus Evans Scam Events
Online scams and rip offs are a serious problem. Guard your business against it. Attend Marcus Evans scam prevention events for all the information.

Marcus Evans Scam Events
Marcus Evans scam events will give you the skills needed to foster an ethical culture in your company

THGWorldwide.com
Click on THGWorldwide.com and find out what corporate hospitality should look like!

Marcus Evans Scam Events
Marcus Evans scam prevention events will help you guard your business against the internal and external frauds.

 
Scam Report  
  See our most recent scam reports Browse our scam report archives Search


Please send us any scam/phishing emails you have received by reporting them here

For access to our huge blacklist of domain names and to sign up to our live feed of ALL the scams we receive please take a look at our Honeytrap service

If you have received the email below, please remember that it is very common for these email scams to be redistributed at a later date with only slightly different content, such as a different subject or return address, or with the fake webpage(s) hosted on a different webserver.

We aim to report every variant of the scams we receive, so even if it appears that a scam you receive has already been reported, please submit it to us anyway.

 

 

 
US Internal Revenue Service

Date Reported: 13th March 2008 Whats this? Risk Level: MEDIUM Whats this?
 
Details
 
Apparent Sender:
 Internal Revenue Service Whats this?
Return Address:
 Department of the Treasury < service@usa.gov > Whats this?
Email Format:  HTML Whats this?
 
URL of Web Content:
 http://forum.ticalcs.net/refund/pas. php?certegy_vm=trueportlet_ change_1_actionOverrideFchaseonline FchangeFsigninDetails_windowLabel_ portlet_signin_pageLabel_page_signin Whats this?
Location:
 PA, US Whats this?
 
Detailed server information:
 forum.ticalcs.net detailed server information Whats this?
 
Our reference number:
 aa-6693
 
Comments:
  • Email asks you to confirm/update/verify your account data at Internal Revenue Service by visiting the given link. You will be taken to a spoof website where your details will be captured for the phishers.


  • Internal Revenue Service never send their users emails requesting personal details in this way.


  • The spoof website this email links to was not online at time of this report, but variations of the scam which link to working websites are bound to exist, so be wary! The website may have been taken down or disabled by the hosts, but quite often these websites are hosted on the personal computer of the phishers, so may only be online at certain times.


  • The REAL URL of the spoof website looks nothing like the actual Internal Revenue Service URL.
     
Content
 
Email:    
 
"After the last annual calculations of your fiscal activity we have determined that you are eligible to receive a tax refund under section 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code. "


 
Website:    
 
Spoof website not online at time of report...